PR Through The Eyes Of A Young Professional

Shannon Smith – Chicago – #HAPPO

In Jobs, Public Relations, Social Media on February 19, 2010 at 7:02 am

Why Hire Me?

My desire for experience as well as my ability to provide excellent work in the area of communication will make me a valuable asset to any company.  I have acquired hands on experience in an academic, personal, and professional atmosphere. I am a graduate from Northern Illinois University (NIU) with a Bachelor of Arts in Corporate Communication and I am currently enrolled in NIU’s graduate program, where I plan to receive my Master of Arts in Communications in August of 2010.

My experience at NIU has allowed me to build a foundation of knowledge and experience. I immersed myself in campus life where I served on the executive board of the SISTERS Organization and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc, Delta Omicron Chapter where I served as public relations chair and vice president. These position allowed me an opportunity to create and publicize events that spoke to the campus needs and interests.

Professional Experience

I completed my internship at WFLD Fox Chicago where I worked hands on with the morning show producers. There I participated in daily meetings while observing the day-to-day operations of creating a morning show both in and out of the studio.

As a marketing intern at Urbanwire.tv , I was responsible for creating a buzz and introducing innovative ways to gain loyal viewership and awareness of this urban television network. I created a presence and consistently updated information for Urbanwire.tv and its major programs on all social networking sites as well as interacted with viewers daily to gain feedback on their opinions about programming. My time at Urbanwire.tv has helped with my ability to help mold an up and coming company into the vision of its founders.

Goddess Magazine is a magazine dedicated to inspiring urban teen girls by allowing them the ability to become leaders and readers.  As a public relations consultant, I have assisted this company by creating press releases, proposals, and helping plan the magazine’s 1 year anniversary. I have assisted in creating a teen expo which will celebrate the magazines success by providing positive professional and personal growth for teenaged urban girls.

I am currently open to all internship and work opportunities that allow me to hone my communication skills and in exchange I will offer my experience presented with impeccable professionalism.

If you believe I will be an asset to your organization please feel free to contact me.

For resume my click here

Writing Sample 1

Writing Sample 2

Leave a Reply

